RSS Feed

Art Suitcase

I saw a couple of pictures on Pinterest where people had taken an old suitcase and transformed it into a case for carrying art supplies to class (or to a friend’s house).  I love them. I “pinned” them and told my friend Liz about them and she fell in love.  She challenged me to find a suitcase and then we would work together to transform a couple of suitcases to take with us when we take a class or when we go to Houston in October.  Grace was with us the day we were looking for suitcases and got caught up in our fever and joined us in this challenge!

Here is the suitcase the day I bought it. ($2 at our local thrift store!)

2013 - spring 066

I had to clean it up but it really is in good shape.

2013 - spring 094

Next step was to find some fabric to cover it. I wanted a fabric that would coordinate with the suitcase color because I did not want to paint it and the inside was in really good shape.

2013 - spring 086

We met at Liz’s house this morning and the transformations began:

2013 - spring 096

I bought a 12 x 18 inch piece of sheet metal at Lowes and I covered one side with my fabric. I used Mod Podge to adhere the edges to the back side of the metal. Then I used E6000 glue to glue it to the inside of my suitcase. Here is a shot of all the stuff I have laying on the covered metal so the glue would stick well.

2013 - spring 097

The inside flap was the same gold as the suitcase and it looked ‘blah’. Grace and Liz said I should paint it. I mooched a bottle of acrylic paint from Liz and WOW! I love the difference!!! On the left is that covered metal sheet.

2013 - spring 098

And this is the opposite side of the flap. Same gold color, but with a great pocket in excellent shape.  I used Heat N Bond to fuse this piece of striped fabric to the flap, tucking it deep into the pocket.

Here are 3 shots:  two of the open suitcase showing both sides and one of the outside.

2013 - spring 100

2013 - spring 099

2013 - spring 101

Isn’t it cute????

Now all the background work of transforming the suitcase is done. There are several small projects I want to accomplish to make it a truly useful tool. I’ll keep you posted.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; part-time artist. Avid lover of reading, gardening, 'making something from nothing'.

4 responses »

  1. The suitcase is adorable! I first thought it would be a suitcase that is suppose to be left in a corner of the room, but to see how useful the piece is and how beautiful it all works so nicely together! I can’t wait to see what else you do to it. Wonderful job! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  2. Susan Brubaker Knapp

    LOVE it!

    Reply
  3. Your choice of striped fabric was brilliant!

    Reply
  4. Angelique Fahy

    What a wonderful idea and how well it turned out! So cute. Thanks for the inspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

