RSS Feed

Circle Quilt

My friend, Liz, challenged me a couple of months ago to begin making a circle quilt. It’s something we’ve talked about on and off for a long time and she said it was about time we did something about it.

I spent some time on Pinterest searching for circle quilt ideas. I found a few I liked, a couple I knew I was NEVER going to make (do you see me making blocks that have hundreds of curved pieces???), and more interesting quilts than I could ‘shake a stick at’ (some of my southern heritage sneaking through).

I decided to make a scrap quilt.  I collect scraps. I find it very difficult to throw away even the smallest piece of fabric. I always think I can use it in some way.  I dragged out my large trash bag full of scraps and dumped it on my sewing room floor (should have taken a picture of that!!!).

I drew 7 1/2 inch circles on parchment paper and roughly cut them out.

Then I started sewing.  In a foundation piecing style, I sewed fabric strips to the parchment paper covering the drawn circle. I started out thinking I would make a table cover or runner, but I found the sewing to be addictive. I pieced all the circles I had traced and cut out and cut out more.  And all those really short strips that I had left over from piecing the circles???? I traced 2 1/2 circles and kept on sewing!!!

 

I made myself stop at 48 large circles and 35 small ones.  After pressing them well, I tore the paper from the back and pressed them again.

2012 spring 047

I bought a nice green fabric for the background. I attached the circles to the green squares using a simple zig zag stitch.

2013 - spring 078

Here is the top so far. I LOVE it!!!!  I love the colors, I love the movement, I love the bright happy colors!

At this point, I’m trying to decide what to do next. It needs a border all around to frame it, but I don’t want it too busy. I have a couple of thoughts and as soon as I make a decision, I’ll let you know and show you the picture.

Oh! and my bag of scraps????  It’s a full as ever. I’m reminded of Jesus feeding the 5,000!

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; part-time artist. Avid lover of reading, gardening, 'making something from nothing'.

3 responses »

  1. It’s that never ending bag of scraps huh? Loving that quilt.

    Reply
    • I’ve left that bag of scraps in my sewing room floor. It might be fun to see how many quilts I could get out of it!

      Reply
  2. oooh, this is marvelous! Love the green, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

