RSS Feed

What I did today!

march-7-2008.jpg

You’ll never guess what I did today! I bought my baby chicks! I have wanted chickens for at least 20 years and in the last 3 or 4 it has become more and more important for me to do so. I cannot explain it – it is something I “have” to do. So, my husband has started building the coop and a neighbor is working on the run. Our local Tractor Supply Store got baby chicks in on Wed and I stopped by today and got mine. Aren’t they cute???!!!!

I have a Rhode Island Red, a Cochin, a Buff Orpington, a Black Barred, and a Golden Laced Wyandotte! They are between 1 1/2 and 2 weeks old. I have them in a tub in my garage for now. They will have to be moved to a larger container in the next few days and will go outside to their coop in about a month or so. I’ll post pictures from time to time to keep you up on their progress!

So now that the chicks are settled in, I’m off to my studio to play.

Until next time, DeLane

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

6 responses »

  1. Oh, I have chick envy! What cuties. Can I come visit them?

    Reply
  2. The chicks are here! The chicks are here!
    How so very cool DeLane. We’ll have to be introduced to your newest additions the next time we’re over.

    Reply
  3. DeLane, I keep looking at these and comparing their size to the circles on the paper towels….they are so tiny! Amazing! Do they have any special needs (heat wise) when they are that small? See how little I know about chickens.

    Reply
  4. They are so cute! I have put you on my favorites so I can remember to read. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  5. Oh, they are so adorable!! I can’t wait to see them! I got your voicemail this morning driving back to Boone from Lenoir. I was at camp all weekend running it for the little girls & there is NO service out there, so I got all my messages this morning. I was driving to work, & I just now got home from work! I am EXHAUSTED! But I will try to call you either tomorrow or Tuesday! I have a band concert tomorrow night, I have the flute solo in Be Thou My Vision! Depending on when it ends I’ll try to give you a call! I added your blog to my favorites so I’ll keep checking it! Love you!

    Reply
  6. The chicks are so cute. I wish you much sucess with your new project. I hope the chicken run is enclosed so no critters can get to them. I will have to come by and see them soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

