RSS Feed

Giving Away the Roosters

Posted on

 

Out of my 5 chicks, I ended up with 3 hens and 2 roosters – in spite of all the assurances that they were all girls!  I was undecided as to what to do with the roosters knowing I DID NOT want them fertilizing my eggs!  My friend a few doors down had her husband fix up a separate space for the roosters thinking we’d just separate them from the hens. She put her rooster in and he was NOT happy!! As for my two, I couldn’t decide. I could free range them, but there’s a hawk in the area…… I could put them with my friend’s rooster, but I was worried about them fighting……. Harry (the beautiful black one) had gotten aggressive and was attacking me every time I entered the coop.  And then my sister-in-law called!!! She has a patient who raises chickens and ended up with 41 hens and 2 roosters. He heard about my predicament and offered to take the roosters. 

Jeff, my brother, and his family were coming down for 4th of July and offered to take the roosters back with them to save me a trip up the mountain. My friend down the street decided to send her rooster along as well since he was so unhappy being separated from his hens.  We boxed them up with lots of air holes and put them in Jeff’s trailer for the trip.   

 

I thought I would miss the roosters but I haven’t. They were getting louder and louder and my rooster and my friend’s rooster were getting into shouting matches and disturbing the entire cove.  I think they will be happy in their new home.  The hens are settling into life without the boys and life around here is much more peaceful!

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. Harry is gorgeous, but I’m so glad you’ll have peace in the cove and peace in the coop again!!!! It’s time for a little peace and quiet for you! ;>)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

