RSS Feed

Eggs

Our first eggs!

Our first eggs!

Wanted to update you on the chickens.  They are all much happier with the roosters gone. They used to shy away from me and were super quiet.  Now they eat lettuce from my hand and always run to the coop door to see what I’ve got for them to eat (I take vegetable and fruit scraps). They LOVE tomatoes and all fruits!

I got my first egg last Thursday. So far, I’ve received 5. I think it’s all the same chicken, but not sure who or which one(s).  It sure is fun to go look in the coop and find one!!!  And, no, haven’t eaten one yet. Seems a little weird at the moment, but I think we’ll break down and break them into a pan on Saturday morning. I’ll keep you posted.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

3 responses »

  1. Neat! I am hoping to have my first egg near the end of next month. We have four chickens in our suburban back yard.

    BTW, my kids LOVED your piggy quilt!

    Deanna

    http://www.littlehouseinthesuburbs.com

    Reply
  2. Can they all be from the same chicken if they are so different in color? Does the color depend on the breed? As you can see, I grew up in the suburbs! Susan

    Reply
  3. We’re not sure who is laying the eggs. We’re getting the darker red ones about every 36 – 48 hours. We’ve only gotten 2 of the lighter ones. We can’t catch them laying them!! What’s weird is that the lighter ones were laid 2nd, and the last one – about a week apart. Makes no sense!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

