RSS Feed

Vacation

Steve and DeLane - Lake McDonald, Glacier Nat'l

Steve and DeLane - Lake McDonald, Glacier Nat

Steve and I went on vacation for 2 weeks. We went to Glacier National Park in Montana; Banff Provential Park in Alberta, Canada; and to Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming. We had a great time. We camped 10 nights out of the 14 we were gone.  It was cold most nights and it was a challenge to try to stay warm enough to sleep and then another challenge to get out of bed in the morning to face the low temps! It’s fun to see me ‘gain and lose’ as the clothes go on and off with the temperature changes!

DeLane, Jackson Creek, Banff Park

DeLane, Jackson Creek, Banff Park

We hiked and saw beautiful scenery. We enjoyed being together, away. We rested and relaxed. And I did some pondering while I was putting one foot in front of the other on those long trails.

DeLane headed up a glacier!

DeLane headed up a glacier!

2 years ago I was spending time doing a lot of creative stuff. I knit, crochet, garden, scrapbook, quilt, cook, bake….. the list goes on and on!  I believe creativity is a way of life, not a particular activity I do.  1 1/2 years ago I was invited to join a couple of art quilt groups and I was so excited to be included. What an honor to have artists I admire invite me to join them in creating and learning!!  I have learned a tremendous amount from these ladies and have grown immensely as an artist! 

Amy's Teahouse, Plain of 6 Glaciers

Amy's Teahouse, Plain of 6 Glaciers

BUT, in my ponderings on the trail, it dawned on me that I haven’t done much of the other things I enjoy since joining these groups. I’ve concentrated on quilting, trying to ‘grow as an artist’. I’ve also found myself spending most of my free time working on the projects being done in the groups.  These projects have led me to grow in my art; I’ve done many things I would NEVER have done on my own! I’ve enjoyed the process of learning.  But I have found myself going into my studio to work and then walking back out because I have found myself second guessing my instincts.  I find myself stopping and thinking “is this really art?”  “what would the other members say?”  “maybe I need to re-think this”……  I think I have been trying to force growth.

Wild Goose Island, Glacier Nat'l

Wild Goose Island, Glacier Nat

I’ve been home a week and I have stayed out of my studio because I have wanted to continue this pondering of mine.  I want to find that spark that I think has been missing.  So, I have cooked, I have baked, I have been in my garden. I even spent some time scrapbooking!  What I know and have always known is that quilting is my first love and will always be my “passion”.  What I think I am learning about myself is that all those other things I do contribute to my quilting. AND I’m thinking that what I’ve enjoyed doing and how I’ve enjoyed doing it is what led me to be invited into these groups in the first place! In my quest to grow and to be accepted as an artist, I’ve lost a little piece of what made my art mine.

So the pondering will continue.  But my hope is that with the time away, the ponderings, and the refreshed spirit, that little piece I thought I had lost will be waiting for me in my studio when I return there!

Until next time,

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

4 responses »

  1. Just have to say what a great picture that is of you and Steve. You both look so happy and healthy!

    Reply
  2. Sounds like it was a good, well needed vacation. Growth comes in spurts and spells. It’s not something that can be forced, it’s not something to be done on anyone else’s time schedule. And it’s not something that can happen without nourishment, both internal and external. I think we all go through this to an extent, it’s part of being one of the social species. You’ll find your voice, you’ll find your “spark”, you’ll find your “you” again, quicker now that you realize what’s missing that you vitally need!

    Looking forward to seeing what you do next! In whatever medium/area you choose!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for your kind words, Judy. I have no doubt I will find my spark again – not sure I actually lost it; I think it’s just been misplaced, waiting for me to look for it!

    Reply
  4. Wow, DeLane! Those pictures are incredible! And you look so happy and relaxed. I think we all need time to get away and ponder things. This is just the stage that you are at in your creative journey. You will move along the path and get back to creating, but I think we all need “breaks” from time to time – live in the present moment and enjoy what you are doing in that moment. Even though quilt art is your first love, that doesn’t mean that you have to be creating something in that media all the time…like you said, it is all good for your creative journey!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

