RSS Feed

this and that

2 Sticks and a string

I’m continuing my boycott of my sewing room.  I’m using my creative time pursuing other interests at the moment, mainly knitting.  I am fascinated that with 2 sticks and a piece of string, one can create fabric, socks, sweaters, etc.  I have a couple of things in the works; here’s one of them.

Dyeing fabric

One of the groups I am a part of has decided to do a collaborative piece. We decided to dye the fabrics together as a group so that we have a cohesive set of fabrics to work from. We dyed our PFD (prepared for dyeing) fabrics a few weeks ago using a gradation method. Tuesday, we got together again to overdye some of those fabrics. We played with discharging, soy wax resist, gudda resist, and sponging to name a few things and overdyed about half of our original fabrics. We had a good day playing. Here are pics of some of the ones I did.

Rusting fabric

And lastly, after playing with my group Tuesday, I came home inspired to continue playing. I gathered all the rusty stuff I’ve been collecting and put it in a ziplock bag with PFD fabric and some vinegar and water. It’s been setting for about 48 hours. Isn’t it cool????  I have to decide if I want to overdye, tea dye, or leave it as is. To all my friends and family:  PLEASE save ALL rusty stuff for me!!!!

Until next time, DeLane

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. I love the rusty one–the simplicity of it is what works for me. I could see squares of that used for a quilt, or matted and hung on the wall.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

