RSS Feed

Avon walk for Breast Cancer – update

Less than 3 weeks now until the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. I’ve been walking fairly faithfully so I will be ready.  I found out this morning that I’ve reached my goal of $1800!!!  That was a huge hurdle for me and I am so thankful to everyone who made a donation.

My original plan was to walk both days in the Avon Walk, but things have worked out so that I will only walk on Sunday.  My knee begins to hurt at mile 6 any time I walk and I’m thinking it would be unwise to try to walk long miles 2 days in a row.  I was hoping that during these months of training my knees would stop hurting, but it hasn’t worked out that way. 

What I will be doing that Saturday is racing in a canoe race with Steve.  Before my surgeries in 2005, he and I canoed several times a week and were racing a few races each year and doing quite well at it. I truly enjoyed it and hated to give it up.  Last Saturday, we decided to see how I’d do in a boat and we’re both happy that not only can I canoe, I can canoe without pain or swelling and I’m enjoying it!  So, we’ll race and then drive into Charlotte to cheer Rachel on. I’ll drive back into Charlotte on Sunday and walk the half marathon with her (Oct 25 and 26)

So, if anyone reading this would like to make a donation, please make it to Rachel Desautels’ fund. She is still about $500 short of reaching her goal of $1800.   Go to www.avonwalk.org and click on make a donation, then Charlotte, then look up Rachel. You can make a donation to help her reach her goal so she can walk.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. Congratulations on reaching your goal! and keep taking care of that knee.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

