RSS Feed

Southeastern Animal Fiber Fair

Today my friend, Vickie Good and my husband, Steve drove with me to Fletcher, NC to the Southeastern Animal Fiber Fair (SAFF)  http://www.saffsite.org/. We enjoyed a 2 1/2 hour drive up the mountain; the leaves were beautiful!  Here they are having way too much fun at lunch:

SAFF is a wonderful event.  This is my third year going and I have loved it each time. It is a fair where those who love natural fibers of all sorts gather and share information, patterns, skills, etc. There are llamas, goats, rabbits, sheep, and alpacas that are there for judging. You can watch them being sheared or plucked if you’re lucky enough to be at the right place at the right time.  I’ve yet to take a class (I always forget to look at the classes until they are all full).  But classes are being taught all weekend on spinning, weaving, knitting, crocheting, felting…. 

Here is a shot of what you can expect when you go:

SAFF

SAFF

And here is a baby goat, 4 days old. I took several pictures of him, but he just wouldn’t pose for me! He was way too interested in the people around him and especially his owner who was holder of the baby bottle.

4 day old goat

4 day old goat

I bought some merino wool roving that I am hoping to nuno felt this week. I’ll post as soon as I have a scarf to show you.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. Awww cute! I’m glad you got to go, I know you were worried about it overlapping with the walk!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

