RSS Feed

Challenge Quilt – LNQ

Lake Norman Quilters is a talented group of women, and a guild to which I belong.  This year I posed a challenge to the group: Anyone wanting to participate had to “pay to play” before anyone learned what the challenge would be. I got a few grumbles, but most of the ladies are up for fun and were willing to play along, especially since the money they paid in was used expressly to buy prizes for the final judging!

So here was the challenge:  I bought many, many gift bags; as many different ones as I could find — they were wild colors, weird designs, simple baby bags, repro art designs……  The night the challenge was issued, each person wanting to play, paid their fee.  THEN out came my large black trash bag full of gift bags. Each participant reached into the bag without looking and pulled out one gift bag. 

The challenge was to create a quilt using the colors of the bag – I asked that each person really study the bag and decide what colors were used and in what proportion. They could mimic the bag if they chose or they could do any design they wanted as long as the colors were in the same percentages and the same shades, hues, tones as the bag.  The quilts were to be no smaller than 8 1/2 x 11 and no larger than 36 inch square.  The quilts had to be finished to qualify for prizes.  Prizes were 1.  Viewer’s choice  2. Best use of color  3.  Best use of frou-frou (embellishments)  4. Most Innovative

I was thrilled to see 11 quilts turned in last night! That represents about 25% of our membership!  We have an extremely talented group of women. It was a lot of fun to see the bags they used as inspiration and then see the quilts that were made.

Here is the bag I pulled:

the gift bag

the gift bag

Here is the quilt I made:

my quilt

my quilt

caterpillar closeup

caterpillar closeup

flower and ladybug closeup

flower and ladybug closeup

 

The ladies last night honored me with the distinction of Viewer’s Choice!

What fun we had!  Already my mind is spinning with ideas for next year!!!

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

2 responses »

  1. Oh, so beautiful. I love the caterpillar!

    Reply
  2. This is a fantastic idea. I bet you would never have done this. You should be awarded.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

