RSS Feed

Rainbow in my window

A brand new year and one of my “resolutions” is to actually do some of the things I’ve put off during 2008. I tend to not be a procrastinator, but 2008 held so many deadlines and responsibilities that many of the things I wanted to do for myself got pushed to the side time and time again. So while I’m not a believer in New Year’s Resolutions as a way to change my life (we all know they go by the wayside way too quickly!!!), I do resolve to take time for myself and get some of my small projects finished.

One project I’ve had on the back burner is making valances for my dining room.  Making them was one thing – very quick and easy! Actually getting them hung was another; one of my windows is where I hang my rainbow (glass balls of every color and shape).  So hanging the valance meant taking down all the balls, washing them, and re-hanging them lower down the window now that a valance is up.  Making the valances took about 30 minutes. Hanging the one took 2 hours!!! 🙂

Here’s my rainbow on a dreary, rainy, grey day:

January Rainbow

January Rainbow

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

5 responses »

  1. Delane,
    Your window is beautiful! Makes me want to do some changes in my house. I love the glass balls. I’ve seen a lot of those in Dillsboro and Sylva when Sara lived there.

    Reply
  2. I know you really wanted to get that valance done. Looks good. I”m glad you rehung your glass balls, I love looking at them.

    Reply
  3. I’m glad you kept your rainbow–it’s one of may favorite parts of your house!

    Reply
  4. One of my favorite parts, too!

    Reply
  5. I need some more for my window! I have 8 in my office window. I’ll have to look for some more!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

