RSS Feed

hip belt

hip belt for my recital

hip belt for my recital

Here’s the finished hip belt I made from the balls of yarn I showed you last week.  The belt was knitted in a garter stitch along the length with a drop stitch used for the middle row. Then I attached long (1 yd) pieces of yarn on each side that will swing and sway when I dance. I attached smaller pieces of yarn across the bottom edge of the belt. THEN, I tied on beads of various sorts to give it weight.  I made 2 belts: one for the front and another for the back. I decided it would be more practical that way.  In the picture, I’ve pulled the sides up on themselves to get them in the picture since there are beads on the bottom of that fringe.

close up

close up

I’ll think about posting a picture of me actually wearing the belts. Hmmm…….

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

2 responses »

  1. Yes, you HAVE to post a picture of you wearing the belts. Having them laid out on the table does not do them justice!

    Reply
  2. Yep!! Need to see it modeled!! Gorgeous!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

