RSS Feed

Birthdays and other musings

2009-blog-pics2

I celebrated my 51st birthday last week.  I love my birthday. For me, it’s a day to reflect on the glorious gift God has given me: life.  And He has blessed me beyond my wildest dreams. 

I am married to the love of my life, a man who loves me unconditionally and sees me as his personal Venus! 

I am the mother to two absolutely incredible kids. They have grown into strong, caring, loving adults who think I’m pretty cool and like spending time with me.  My son-in-law even likes me! 🙂 

I have health, happiness, peace, contentment. I am free to make art, read books of my choosing, gather to worship with friends and family. I am blessed.

My birthday is a day to reflect on these blessings and be thankful for another year. In my 50th year, I walked a half marathon, climbed a mountain and had tea at 7,500 feet, walked on a glacier, saw manatees, danced in two recitals! …  The funniest thing about my 50th year is that I found Facebook:  totally by accident and dragged kicking and screaming into it. BUT, I found an old friend, Teri Mainguy. She and I were BEST friends in our early 20’s.  We moved, had families, and lost each other.  I am enjoying learning what she’s been up to for the past 30 years. She made the birthday card in the picture.

So I look forward t0 this new year. Watching and waiting to see what gifts God has in store for me. Watching and looking for ways to share His blessings with those around me.

I am thankful for the friends in my life. Those who encourage me daily to aspire to be better and bigger. Those who tell me I am loved, that I am worthwhile, that I “can do it” (whatever “it” may be at the time!).  Birthdays… aren’t they wonderful?

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

5 responses »

  1. What beautiful words….and yes, you are very much loved.

    Happy Happy Birthday my friend!

    Reply
  2. I am so glad you are a part of my life! Happy Birthday!

    Reply
  3. It is wondeful to know someone that is happy with their life as they are getting older and not be moaning age. i’m glad that you had a special day!!!

    Reply
  4. How beautifully said, DeLane. Thank you for being my friend and making me laugh till I cried last night! Love You!

    Reply
  5. I am truly blessed with great friends!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

