RSS Feed

Making a beaded button

I’ve been asked how I made the button.  It wasn’t hard, just a little tedious. But then I love beads so a little tedium is ok with me. 😉

I used a covered button kit and traced the outside edges of the button onto fabric to give myself a template for where the beads should go. Then I just started stitching them on. I tend to work in a random way without much pre-planning so there wasn’t a particular pattern to the beads. If you want, you can draw lines and/or areas within your template area where you want to put certain beading.

I placed the beads one at a time in some places and in long strings which were then couched or backstitched depending on what I was doing. Once I had beads sewn on all the way to the edge of my button, I used my beaded fabric to cover the button (instructions are on the package you buy).  I discovered that muslin fabric with turquoise beads left a striking edge of white so I had to add more beads to cover the edges. This was tricky trying to hide knots in my thread and to sewn on an already taut, covered button!!!! 

I’ve read a couple of books and I also searched the internet. The more I do art, the more I realize there isn’t ONE way to do anything – there are almost as many ways to do something as there are people doing them.  One book I love is Beading on Fabric by Larkin Jean Van Horn and another I love is Beaded Embellishment by Amy C. Clarke and Robin Atkins.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. Thanks for these instructions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

