RSS Feed

Charms!

One of my local art groups, Pandoras, met yesterday.  Our host, Susan Brubaker-Knapp, generously did the shopping and gathering of supplies for us to make charms. We used the instructions from the Jan/Feb ’09 issue of Cloth, Paper, Scissors magazine to make charms from shrink film (similar to ShrinkyDink), polymer clay, and wooden pieces.  We played with StazOn and  Fabrico inks, stamps,  Lumiere paints, colored pencils, Sharpies, and PearlEx Powders. Most of these items were entirely new to me. I asked questions all day long!  Here’s a Big Thank You to my very patient friends who tirelessly answered them all!

I never got to play with Shrinky Dinks as a kid so I was amazed by the reaction it has when placed in a hot toaster oven!  I started with a piece of shrink film that was 2 1/2 inch square and after melting it is about an inch square!

 2009-blog-pics-013
The polymer clay was a lot of fun, too.  We rolled, pressed, ran clay through a  pasta machine, and came up with some beautiful combinations of colors and swirls. We used stamps and rubbing plates to give texture to some, rubbed with PearlEx powder to give a nice shimmer to some.  Then the clay is baked in the toaster oven for 15 minutes (follow the directions on the clay you buy). 

 2009-blog-pics-017

This face was made by pressing the clay into a pre-made mold.

2009-blog-pics-018

These were polymer clay, navy and pink, rolled and swirled together. Then rolled over a texture plate, and then dusted with PearlEx powder. Then baked.  Cool, huh?

2009-blog-pics-021

I used the same process on this one, but before baking it, I scrunched it a bit to make a pendant.

The wooden discs were fun, but not as much fun to me as the clay or the shrink film. We painted, drew, and stamped them and let them dry. Then we could add bits of fabric using gel medium. I wasn’t happy with the way the fabric pieces were looking on the wooden discs so I painted over the fabric with a light coating of pearl Lumiere to give it a shimmer. I’m thinking I may add a few beads to them.

2009-blog-pics-022

A safety tip:  items used in the making of art (toaster oven, knives, measuring cups, pasta machine, etc) really should be purchased for this purpose only.  These items should not be used for food preparation once they’ve been used for art.  Also, melting and baking should be done outside where any fumes that might be generated can be wafted away.  I always use a respirator if I have any concern about what I am melting (plastics can be very toxic!!!! and some actually should not be melted ever!)

I spent a fun day with friends making some really fun stuff!  What a lucky lady I am!!!  Thanks again, Susan!

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

4 responses »

  1. It was fun, wasn’t it! How lucky we are that we have time to play!

    Reply
  2. they are all so beautiful and creative. i’m so sorry i missed all the fun and talent.
    liz

    Reply
  3. Everything you have shown is gorgeous! I especially like the mask. You and your friends are so talented.

    Reply
  4. Wow, very cool! Sounds like you guys had a lot of fun! Bring some on Tuesday to share!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

