RSS Feed

Today’s project

I started a project a couple years back that I have really wanted to complete. It’s special to me for a number of reasons and I want it hanging on my living room wall!!!  The latest ‘push’ comes in the form of really wanting to hang this piece in the gallery in June – so I have to get busy!!!!  And because it’s going in that show, I can’t show you the big picture – has to stay a secret until the show opening. I can, however, give you a taste of what I’m up to:

I took a picture of my kids and Steve’s feet a long time ago. We were in Austria somewhere on a back road up in the Alps. Everyone was bored and we found an almost dry stream bed with a small trickle of water. The three of them (Steve age 33, Rachel  age 10, and Ted age 9) entered into a “cold foot contest”. The winner was the one that was able to keep their feet in that icy water the longest. When it was over, I had to have  picture of their very cold, very pink feet.  That picture is the basis for the quilt I am working on now.

And here is a sample of what I’ve done this morning:

the beginning of a leg and foot

the beginning of a leg and foot

 The top of the leg is to the left.  I know, it’s bad—- but I can’t give too much away!!! You’ll have to come to the gallery in June! 🙂

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. Oh, wow, what a great concept–and memory! I can’t wait to see the unveiling.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

