RSS Feed

NC Quilt Symposium 2009

Posted on

I got home last night from a wonderful weekend at Peace College in Raleigh, NC.  Peace College is where this year’s Quilt Symposium was held.  For those of you unfamiliar, Quilt Symposium is a large statewide quilt show held once a year, hosted by a different guild each year. Nationally known teachers are brought in and the classes are phenomenal!! 

The highlight for my weekend was walking into the show and finding that my  entry into the small wall hanging category won a first prize!  There was my quilt with a blue ribbon on it! How exciting!!

May 09 110

I took a fabric dyeing class with Jeanette DiNicholas Meyer. The class was great. Jeanette is a lot of fun and is the most knowledgable person I’ve met when it comes to dyeing fabric! You can read about her at her website and if you ever have a chance to take a class with her, do so. You will not be disappointed!   http://www.jdmeyer.com

May 09 117

And another highlight of my weekend was taking a class with Larkin Jean Van Horn!  What a delightful woman! I found her personable, patient, kind, funny, and very knowledgeable.  I learned a lot in her class. It was fun meeting her because I’ve used her book as my main reference for beading for a couple of years now.   If you are unfamiliar with her work, please check out her website.  Her work is breathtaking!    http://www.larkinart.com/

May 09 120

NC Quilt Symposium will be held in Charlotte, NC next year.  June 3 – 6 in downtown Charlotte.  I really hope you’ll take the time to get the registration packet and decide to take some classes.  I had a ball!   http://www.ncqsi.org/

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. Are you still on CLOUD 9? Congratulations! Your quilt is beautiful and I’m glad I saw it in person.
    Liz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

