RSS Feed

Dye day

I spent the day dyeing stuff on Wednesday. I love the process of dyeing; I love even more the surprises I pull out of each vat!  I do not try to make anything I can reproduce. I love being surprised by what I do. I love the individuality of each piece.   Usually I dye fabric, but I decided to do some other stuff:

2009 blog pics 012

I use all sorts of things for my vats. I recycle plastic containers of all sorts. The ones my husband’s athletic drink mix comes in are great!  The washed out cat litter buckets are wonderful for larger pieces. and for small pieces, even a ziplock bag works really well.  Please note: Once I’ve used an item for dyeing, it goes in my dye stuff pile and never returns to the kitchen.

2009 blog pics 018

This is a silk scarf I played with one day using soy wax batik.  Everywhere I had put soy wax was white, so I dumped it into a vat with orange dye.  I like it.  It’ll be real pretty around my neck this fall!

2009 blog pics 020

I found this shirt on the clearance rack at Target. It was solid cream, but I loved the little flower embellishment. I dyed it blue!

2009 blog pics 019

This is a close-up of the little embellishment.  I love the way it only took dye in tiny areas. I can’t wait to wear this! I think I’ll save it for AQS show in Knoxville!

blue onsie 18 13

And lastly, here’s a Onsie I dyed.  My daughter’s friends are having babies (7 of her friends!!!)   Have you tried to find a cute ‘something’ for a baby????  Oh my goodness – it seems that every boy is to play a sport or love trains and the poor girls are all in pink or have baby ducks on their clothes!!!  I like Onsies – they are practical and comfortable. I decided what could possibly be better than a Hand-dyed Onsie!  I’ve put some in my Etsy shop:   http://tinyurl.com/n9vnut
I’d love for you to go look!  (Grace, I need a refresher course in getting that tiny url thing to work!!!!)

Until next time,  DeLane

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

3 responses »

  1. What a great day you had. i saw that top at target and your’s is better!
    Liz

    Reply
  2. Beautiful t-shirt, DeLane! And that onsie is to die for! I’ll be getting some for people I know.

    Reply
  3. I LOVE the scarf!! You are correct, it will be beautiful around your neck this fall : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

