RSS Feed

Socks!

I bought this yarn over a year ago and never took the time to make the socks. I made it a point of “Intention” to get them done in time to wear them before the weather turns too warm.  I finished them Friday night and wore them Saturday.  I love them!!!! 

The yarn is Opal brand – I want to say it is a German company, but I’m really not positive.  Opal is well known for their sock yarns and I loved working with this one. This particular yarn is from their Harry Potter collection and is the one named for Hedwig (Harry Potter’s pet owl). I love the muted colors.  I’m sure you noticed the two socks are not identical.  You can PLAN your socks by noting the starting run of colors and then ‘wasting’ yarn to begin your second sock at the same place and thus make two socks that look identical.  I LOVE the difference between the two! Part of the charm of handmade socks, I think.

Unfortunately, I bought the yarn so long ago that it is now considered a vintage yarn (Opal’s distinction, not mine!) and is only available through yarn shops who still have it in stock from earlier.

Now that I have this project done, I have given myself permission to begin a short sleeve sweater for spring. AND I’m digging in my pile of UFOs (Un – Finished Objects in the quilting world) and making time to work on them. I have entirely too many projects started that need my attention.

AND, on top of that, the weather is warming up outside and I need to be outside as well. 

The pulls and tugs of all the things needing doing and things I want to do…..

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. I love that the socks are different but the same!! Nice job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

