RSS Feed

Outside “art”

Every spring finds me outside working in my yard.  Knitting, quilting, reading, even housework, all gets put on the back burner while I spend all my energy outside.  Since we live in the country and have 1/2 acre and lots of trees, spring time is always about getting the last of the leaves off the ground and the beds tidied and cleaned up.  It always amazes me how many weeds spring up that have to be pulled and dug out. I make myself get that chore done before I allow myself a trip to the garden shop. 🙂

I was really excited this week when I found foxglove at our local garden shop AND I found “damaged” Bleeding Hearts for $2 a pot!!!  I came home with 20 pots of plants:  Bleeding Heart, Lavender, Foxglove, and Coral Bell.  Once I got all that in the beds, I did some dividing of perennials I already had and planted all that. THEN today, I went and got the annuals to put in pots on the porch and patio.

The beds will be much more full and colorful in a few weeks when everything settles in and starts blooming, but here are  a few pictures of what I’ve been doing all week.

Looking towards the house from the lake

Looking out towards the lake from the front of the house

And even the chickens got some flowers to spruce up their home!

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

