RSS Feed

Quilting By The Lake

I spent all last week in New York, outside of Syracuse in Onondaga County at Quilting By the Lake (QBL).  Almost 200 women gathered at Onondaga Community College where teachers from all over the US, Canada, and England had come to teach classes.  QBL is a great experience and I hope that each and every one of my quilting friends will consider making plans to attend in the near future.

I went with my friend, Grace Howes, this year. We were dorm room-mates and we took the same class. She chose the class and because I really didn’t have my heart set on another one, I took the one she chose so we could be in the same class. I always have a really good time with her.  We took a class from Nancy Crow http://www.nancycrow.com/HTML/home.html   It was a challenge for us both.  I thought you might enjoy a few photos from our week.  Due to copyright and privacy rules I am not allowed to share anyone’s work except hers and mine.

Here is our work station. We pushed our two tables together to give us plenty of work space and we faced each other across the two tables giving us some comedy and stress relief from time to time when needed:

Our big assignment for the week was to make all these pieces of fabrics from the fabrics we had brought from home. I was pretty proud that I accomplished as many I did!

And here is the beginnings of a quilt top from some of the fabrics I made in the previous picture:

And here’s the start of Grace’s quilt top:

We had a good time, ate well, had fun in the dorm with 3 other women we met when we moved in.  We learned a lot and are already looking forward to July 2012.  Who is going to go with us?? We want to share our dorm room with friends from home!!!!

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

3 responses »

  1. wow! I missed you guys! I was there during first session. So glad you made it through Crow Design boot camp !! Isn’t the new campus nice? Your work looks great!

    Reply
  2. Benedicte Caneill

    I know it was fun! I was there. I am glad you made it back safely home. I hope to take another class with you!

    Reply
    • Hey Benedicte,
      It was fun. I am glad I met you and I look forward to finding you in another class in the future!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

