RSS Feed

New Year is coming

The New Year is approaching and I’ve been contemplating once again what word or phrase I want to guide me through 2011. 

Some of you read my post from last year and know I chose “Intention” for 2010.  What I find interesting about that word choice for last year is the difference between what I thought it meant for me in January when I chose it, and where it really took me through the year.

I THOUGHT it would guide me in the “doing” aspects of my life. I thought I would face each day with the intention to get a certain amount of stuff done: housework, blogging, quilting, gardening. Those things were too  DO-oriented.  I chose Intention as a BE-oriented word. What’s surprising to me as I look back on 2010 is how much choosing that word really did guide my ‘being’,  even when I wasn’t fully cognizant of it. 

 I started 201o pretty sick with bronchitis (lasted 91 days – took antibiotics for 52 of those!).  I was also having a lot of trouble getting my thyroid to function well with the medicine they had me on. Then I found out that my C-reactive Protein was sky high and the doctors were pressuring me to take medicine I really did not want to take.  I was over weight and over-fat (body percentage). 

I pursued the bronchitis until I found a doctor who was aggressive enough to treat me until it was gone.

I did  a lot of research on thyroid function and treatment and had to see 6 doctors before finally finding one willing (and knowledgeable) to treat me with the medicine I thought I needed.  Whoo hoo!! My thyroid is great and I’m feeling wonderful!!!

I did some research and reading and decided to try being Gluten Free.  After 3 full months of being Gluten Free, my C-reactive protein was NORMAL!!!! My Vitamin D was NORMAL!!!! and my cholesterol came down 20 points in spite of the fact that it was normal to begin with.  (other benefits were that my eczema improved, my seasonal allergies improved, and the rheumatoid-like pain is gone)

I started working with a nutritionist and lost 10 pounds. I’ve joined Weight Watchers and have lost another 12. I’m still overweight, but my waist size is approaching normal and since my “intention” for 2010 was to lose the weight, I feel confident that I will reach my goal.

I’m not sharing this with you to brag or gloat. Other areas of my life were impacted as well:  church, dance, friendships, family. I could bore you for pages and hours with all the ways that simple word affected me this year.  I’m sharing this with you because I believe  choosing the word “Intention” really did make a difference in my life this year. 

I read the following blog a couple of years ago and I think I shared it with you last year:  http://christinekane.com/blog/resolution-revolution-a-better-way-to-start-your-year/  Christine Kane  writes eloquently about this subject here and I hope you’ll go read what she says. 

I’ve re-read it and am in the process of choosing my word for 2011.    I truly hope you will pick a word to guide you through 2011; I’d love to hear your stories.

I’ll be back in a day or two when I’ve chosen my word (it’s now a tie between 3)

Hugs, DeLane

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. Love this post DeLane! Can’t wait for your word reveal. Still working choosing mine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

