RSS Feed

New Year is coming Part 2

The other thing that has been on mind lately as the New Year approaches is my home. I take great pride in making a home and enjoy most aspects of it.  When my home is clean and organized, I find myself much more peaceful and content. I find that my creativity flows more often and I enjoy the time I spend creating.

Have you ever heard of FlyLady?  If not, I encourage you to go over and browse through the site.    http://www.flylady.net/  Fly Lady suggests some things in our homes need daily attention, others weekly, and others monthly or yearly.  She attends to things I rarely thought about.  Fly Lady provides concrete, usable, easy ways to get and/or stay organized. 

One thing I like about her ideas is that I can modify them to make them workable for me and my home. I found I had to split my house and garden up into more zones than she suggests. I found that some things she suggests doing did not apply to me at all. The one thing I did that I value is making a NOTEBOOK.

Making a NOTEBOOK takes time. It doesn’t happen in an afternoon. It took a few days to get things the way I wanted them and then I’ve re-arranged it a few times. BUT, over the past 8 years, that notebook has remained an invaluable resource.  It has sections for chores; it has a section for Zones (areas of your home or garden); it has a section for all those pesky instructions for using tools you rarely use (the steam cleaner) and for how to put up the Christmas tree….; it has a section for directions to the various places I only go once every 6 months to 2 years; and it has a section for addresses and phone numbers.  Along with that notebook, I have a plastic ‘sleeve’ (found at the office supply store) where I stick bills as they come in, notes that need to be sent ‘later’, my business tax forms that get mailed 4 times a year….

I found myself dragging that notebook out yesterday and reorganizing it. I re-arranged how I want to spend my days and weeks and today I actually splurged on a new notebook and dividers since my old one is starting to look ragged and the spring has sprung on the 3 rings. I will be putting everything together in just a little while.

It’s just another way I am looking forward to the new year. Monday morning, I will give my home a “blessing” and make my sink sparkle (see Fly Lady’s website). 

Hugs,  DeLane

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

