RSS Feed

snow day

We received 4 – 5 inches of snow overnight. We live on a side road off a side road. Therefore:  no snow plows, no salt trucks, no …..  just snow. By noon, we were up to about 6 inches and it’s snowing again. It’s beautiful! I love looking out the window at the white – it’s peaceful and quiet looking.

I spent the morning straightening up and putting things back in my sewing room after the diaper making the other day. Then, I dragged out the Christmas fabric I bought while I was in Florida last month.  Steve and I went down in December to visit my mom on our way to Marco Island for a work conference. Here is a picture of me and my mom:

Seriously, if you want the best Thrift shops EVER, go to Vero Beach and Barefoot Bay, Florida. I always come home with a car load! My mom lives in that area and when I go visit her, we go shopping at the thrift stores.

We went into one and there was a bag of Christmas fabric. I didn’t give it a second look because I tend to not like “Christmasy” fabrics. BUT, when the man running the store came over and said “that lady says you quilt – will you please buy this for $2?” How could I say no????

I brought it home, ran it through the washer and dryer and then set it aside – I was too busy with Christmas and New Years and Baby shower to think about it. I got it out this morning and ironed it and discovered that my $2 bought 11 yards of Christmas fabric!!!!!  I have 6, 1/2 yd cuts, 1 fat quarter, and the rest are 1 yard cuts!! 

If I did my math right, I paid 18 cents a yard!!!!

Peace on your day.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

