RSS Feed

What I’ve been up to lately

Here it is. I finished it about a week ago. I’ve been working on it for the better part of 6 weeks.  Couldn’t show it to you along the way as it was a baby gift for Rachel and Adam last Saturday. I’m glad Rachel loved it!  It’s made from a pattern by Karen Brow of Java House Quilts.  I love her cute, whimsical patterns.

While I was in Florida in December, I picked up shells on the beach with a project in mind:

I filled an old mason jar with the shells I picked up (and washed in bleachy water to kill the fish smell).  Then I covered an old lampshade frame with strips of fabric left over from the quilt. The jar lid was fitted with a lamp assembly – I think my dad did it about 20 years ago – and put in a 40 watt bulb. Now they have a cute night light for the nursery.

I’ve continued to work in my new studio. It’s taken hours to sort through all my stuff. I refuse to put anything in there that I don’t realistically see me working on or with. I’m being fairly aggressive and have a large pile of things I want to sell.

Stay posted: I will be inviting all my crafty friends to come buy this stuff from me. It all needs new homes where it can be brought to life in someone else’s art. Part of the money I raise will buy a new book for our guild library; the rest will be used for more storage in my new studio! (or a new desk chair!)

And I do promise you will see pictures of the studio when it is in order.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

