RSS Feed

Pi

I’m smart.  Really.

I’ve never had anyone explain pi to me in a way that made any sense.  I feel so stupid when I can’t grasp a new concept. I hate feeling stupid.

Steve is smart. He has an engineering degree and has taken advanced mathmatics. BUT, when I ask him about pi, he goes to another planet where another language is spoken. He starts talking about ratios and uses terms I’ve never heard and I  blank out. It’s similar to the experiences I had in my math classes in school.

I have a friend, Alisan Royster, who is a math teacher. She was talking about celebrating Pi day on March 14th with her students. She was so animated and excited about it, I asked her if she could explain Pi to me.

Yesterday I had a light bulb moment!!!!!  It was wonderful!  I now know what Pi is and why I care and how I can use it in my life!!!!!!! 

Whoo hoo!

Alisan has a gift for making things clear. Her students are very lucky to have her as their teacher.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

2 responses »

  1. Well…aren’t you going to share? I too am married to an engineer and I just know better than to ask!

    Reply
  2. I wish I had had Alisan as a math teacher… then I wouldn’t have “female math anxiety syndrome.” Sigh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

