RSS Feed

Today I will be brave

It’s been a while since I’ve entered my work in a show. It’s scary. Honestly.

I put thought and care and creativity into every piece I make and it’s rare that I don’t like the end result. Of course, I have a few pieces I’d like to burn but I keep them around to remind me of where I’ve been and how far I’ve come, and how far I have yet to go. 

To send a piece out to be judged or juried (or both) takes courage. I am allowing someone else to determine whether my work is “up to par”, if it meets some standard set by someone else’s idea of a theme or of workmanship.  If I’m not careful, I can allow those judgements to niggle at my self esteem and my confidence as an artist. 

That said, entering my work and allowing the critiques, helps me grow as an artist.  I can be thrilled when someone likes my work, in tears when someone doesn’t, and angry when I vehemently disagree with an opinion. Poor Steve takes the brunt of all these emotions because it’s not professional to rant and rave in public about such things. Artists are supposed to take it on the chin and go on. (right?)

Today, I am choosing to be brave. I have printed off the registration packets for two shows. One piece can be sent as is. The other doesn’t meet size requirements and I’m having to re-work it to make it bigger. I’ve spent a couple of hours this morning playing with several ideas of how to do so without losing the original strength of the piece and hopefully make the piece even stronger. It’s laid out on my dining room table and I finally like my solution.

So today I will be brave. I will enter my work for judging.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. It is going to be great, DeLane. I can’t wait to see all of your blue ribbons!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

