RSS Feed

My bracelets

I posted yesterday about Pandoras on Monday. I worked on my bracelets today and got both finished. I promised pictures:

I started with a rectangle cut from cotton canvas. I spritzed with Glimmer Mist and let it dry. The lace motif was a light cream. I tried tea dyeing it, but it barely turned color (I think because it’s a poly blend). So then I remembered my Distress stains I bought a while back. I spritzed it with Walnut and Java and then it was way too dark – I ran to the bathroom and rinsed it quickly under cool water and when it got to this color, I patted it dry and let it dry overnight. The flower in the center is made of a couple of torn pieces of silk that I wound and sewed into a floret and then stitched to the bracelet with copper beads. The ruffle is a bit of batik fabric folded in half and stitched on and then finally, backed it with the same batik fabric and added a snap to close.

This one is canvas also. I wrote the quote “If you cannot be the poet, be the poem” (David Carradine) Then I colored with fabric pastels, then wet it down to “moosh” the colors. When it was dry, I spritzed it with Glimmer Mist. let it dry again. This flower came on a length of ribbon flowers I bought at Donna Downey’s Studio in Huntersville, NC (a neighboring town). It was bright cream so I spritzed it with Glimmer Mist as well. The leaves are a piece of rick rack folded in half. The bracelet is finished off with a bit of lace trim and backed with a piece of canvas.

The phrase I think I’ve coined is “Feminine Grunge”. I think that describes these bracelets fairly well.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

2 responses »

  1. Oooo i love them both!

    Reply
  2. These are cool, DeLane!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

