RSS Feed

In my sewing room

Love, love, love the days when I can spend time in my sewing room. The other day, I was able to get up and wander in with my cup of coffee and found my muse waiting on me. 

I have several projects in process and am working furiously to get them travel ready. Which for me means getting the machine work done enough that I can do handwork on them in the car, on a plane, in a tent….. 

All of these pieces are destined for exhibits this October so I can’t show them in their entirety, but I can give you a few glimpses:

A Folk Art Piece:

The felted wool piece I blogged about the other day:

The maquette I did to try my hand at the wet felting process:

And here I’ve started playing with a piece of my hand-dyed fabric:

When I disappear from blogging, I’m still at work in my studio.

All these pieces are now packed for our trip – each with the embellishments, threads, needles, etc that each will need for completion. My goal is to have each of them ready to bind and put hanging sleeves on when I return.

 

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. You have packed much visual appeal into this samples. I am wondering if you have experience with leather? I have been collecting scrapes for several years from leather workers. I have painted smooth leather with only minimal stitching but want to incorporate this natural split hide fiber with wool felt. The black piece on top appears to have bits of leather engaged.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

