RSS Feed

Gremlins

I thought I’d share with the realization that I’m making progress with my gremlins.   This is how it is said on the website.

“There is indeed a Gremlin in your head and he’s out to make you miserable. Left to do his thing, he’ll zap your health, foul up your relationships, ruin your disposition, dampen your creativity, hamper your productivity, drive you into low-down funks and wind you up into fits of anxiety.” 

The book written by Rick Carson, Taming Your Gremlin, was a huge help to me in my fight with my Gremlin. When I first read the book 4 years ago, my Gremlin had tight hold on me and talked incessantly. Over time, I’ve gotten him to quiet down.

When I first started working on taming my Gremlin, in addition to reading the book and doing the exercises, I made a quilt:

The background colors represent the chaos my Gremlin always brings to my life when he’s around. When I started the quilt, my Gremlin was popping in from all directions, always catching me off guard, and was always sneaky. What was interesting was that in the process of creating the quilt along with reading the book, my Gremlin got quieter and quieter and by the time the quilt was finished, my Gremlin wasn’t popping IN, he was on his way out!

Is he silent? Of course not, he lurks around and still tries to talk, but I have the skills to make him go away and be quiet (you really should read the book!!!!).

Tonight, I realized how far I’ve come in taming this Gremlin of mine. Steve and I decided (I’m still not sure how or why!) that rowing would be a good activity for us. So, off to rowing classes we go. Now you have to understand that when my Gremlin had free reign to speak whenever he wanted, I would never have shown up for rowing classes. He would have said I was too fat, too out of shape, not athletic enough, people would stare, I would be a disappointment to Steve….. (I know what he would say because those are the kinds of things he said to me for years). 

I know I’ve made progress because I went to class in my spandex shorts and tightly fitting specialty fabric shirt and sandals, I acted like I belonged, I FELT like I belonged, I got into a boat with 8 other people and I took my first lesson in how to row.  And it wasn’t until I was half way home that I realized my Gremlin had not said a word. I felt proud, I felt tired, and I know I’ll go back for another lesson.

What’s the point of this post?  I talk to people every week who are dealing with a Gremlin and haven’t realized it yet.  I hope by talking about it and telling you how much progress I’ve made, maybe, just maybe you’ll get the book and do the reading and do the work to Tame your Gremlin. THEN, pass on the book to another person who needs it.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

3 responses »

  1. Good for you girl! Proud of you.

    Reply
  2. I can tell you’ve been telling your gremlin where to go! I’m proud of you, too! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Your gremlin quilt is so beautiful!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

