RSS Feed

Starting from scratch in a New Year – 2012

So I’ve taken a long hiatus from blogging and I kind of feel bad for leaving this hanging for so long. Every time I’ve thought about trying to “catch up” on the blog,I’ve thought about how far behind I’ve gotten and how long it would take to catch up. It’s overwhelming.

If you’ve been reading my blog for a while, you know that for the past few years I’ve chosen a word to guide me through the year. This year I did not choose a word. I did not make any resolutions. I have not set any concrete goals. Instead, I have chosen 2 practices I want to incorporate into my life:

1. Self Compassion.  My definition is to basically give myself a break. I usually have high expectations for myself. I set lofty goals. I have lists and lists of things I want to achieve. And like most of us, I fail to meet them all. When I fail, I tend to start beating myself up with “should have”, “could have”, “wish I’d”….  This year, I still have things in the back of my mind that I would like to do. But I want to practice self compassion. Treating myself in the same manner I would a dear friend who has found themselves overburdened and overwhelmed and tired. I will be kind, forgiving, understanding, and encouraging to myself this year.

2. Priorities  I spent the last two weeks of 2011 cleaning out things. I cleaned out my email contacts list; my blog feeds; my yahoo groups; my Facebook friends; my telephone contact list; and I spent time unsubscribing to email lists that no longer interest me.  I’ve been sorting through closets and drawers taking all those things out that I no longer use or find pretty. I’ve taken bags of stuff to the thrift store.  All of this mainly because I want the things in my life to be meaningful and worth my time and effort.

You can imagine that with all this going on in my life, I haven’t had time to make much. I’ve knitted mittens, hats, and even a sock monkey ornament for Christmas gifts.  But I haven’t created any original art. My art these days is the flow of my life. I am appreciating each day as it comes, making decisions based on the question “What will I remember or be important to me in 10 years?”.

The thing I find interesting is that the more I have purged and the more material stuff I’ve rid myself of, the more interested I’ve become in being in my studio again. The more ideas keep popping into my head.

I am eagerly looking forward to what 2012 holds in store for me and mine. I’d love to hear what you are doing new or differently as you are beginning this new year.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

3 responses »

  1. Hi DeLane – So glad to hear from you again. I appreciate and support the process you are engaging in. I find that when I get cluttered and overwhelmed it is not easy to tap into the creativity of original art and I will do something rote instead to “satisfy” the need. Self compassion sounds simple but it isn’t an easy practice and I wish you well.
    As for me, I’ve been playing with some cloth and doing a little knitting. I started a knitted sweater vest in October, when my stepmom went into hospital near the end of her 10 year battle with cancer, and put it down before I finished it, when she passed. This week I picked it back up again. I also discovered someone on the web, Jude Hill, who writes a blog “Spirit Cloth” that I’ve really enjoyed. She has some online courses that I treated myself to participate in over the holiday and I’ve been weaving with fabric as she models. That’s been fun. I’ve also joined the Pintangle crew doing Take a Stitch Tuesday and am realizing all the talented people out there and how much we all like to share our stuff.
    I decided that, although I LOVE it, this year I will not attend the North Carolina Quilt Symposium – if you remember, where we met 🙂
    It is about six hours drive away this year and just doesn’t feel like I can do it so… an example of self care
    Best regards to you

    Reply
  2. This is my first year to chose a word and it came to me fast–LESS. Do less, volunteer less and work less so that I can do more. More of what brings me joy.
    Liz

    Reply
  3. I love this post and that you are doing for you what needs to be done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

