RSS Feed

life > blog

I’ve gotten so many complaints about my lack of blogging! I thought I best sit down and post something.  Truth? I’ve just been so busy LIVING, I haven’t gotten around to writing about it!

So… what have I been up to?  I have the privilege of spending 1 or 2 days a week with my granddaughter, Kiyah. She is a joy and I love every minute I get to spend with her.  (I’ve tried 3 different pictures of her here and I can’t get a single one to show up on my post!)

A trip to Savannah, GA with a friend. I visited a large, OLD cemetary there and I got several more photos of gravestones for an upcoming project.

I spent a couple of days dyeing fabric, scarves, onesies, and socks. I love the process of dyeing. I use a method that results in completely random and spontaneous results. I have no control over what will appear once I’m done.

These are a couple of the onesies that I dyed that day. I love them.

I was asked to make another piece for StudioE Fabrics. This time the challenge was to make a small art quilt from only their black and white fabrics. I received a box from them and had a couple of weeks to send a quilt back. They used it in their booth at a trade show.  I’m sure most of you see a cross; if you look closer, you’ll see that the cross is formed from a mobius or an infinity symbol. I love symbols and the meaning behind them.

This is an absolutely awful picture of the project I’ve worked on this week. The animals are a commercial fabric I bought at my local quilt store. The background fabrics (with the exception of one) are all my hand dyed fabrics I dyed this month.  I actually finished this piece yesterday, but haven’t had time to take a picture.  I’ll try to do that today.

What’s upcoming in my life?

My church, Watershed Charlotte is having an Art Crawl on August 19th. They’ve invited artists not only from our church, but also from the local community to come set up booths in the lobby and hallways. We will have food trucks in the parking lot after church so everyone can get lunch and enjoy an art show and sale.  I am one of the artists participating!  I have a lot to do and not much more time to do it!

And my last bit of news is that Steve and I will be traveling to Ireland next month. Another thing that is taking up a lot of my time preparing an itinerary and making travel plans and packing lists. We leave 2 days after the Art Crawl. No pressure there!

I think that catches you up a bit on my life and what I am doing. I will get some pictures up of the other things I’ve been making for the Art Crawl. Until then, please email or message me on FaceBook. I love hearing from you!

 

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

One response »

  1. Nice to get an update. Have a wonderful, blessed time in Ireland. Nancy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

