RSS Feed

Pop-Up Art Market this weekend!

I am excited to be one of the artists included in this event.  22 artists from the Charlotte will be exhibiting their talents and wares on Sunday as part of a day celebrating creativity.  4 Food trucks will be on site serving breakfast, snacks, and lunch – there’s even going to be a cupcake truck!!!  Complimentary locally- roasted coffee will be served in the lobby.

I’ll be exhibiting and selling small quilts, hand felted items, wall art, and hand-dyed onesies:

This is a small child’s quilt I made last month. The animal are cut from a commercial fabric. All the background fabrics, with the exception of one batik, are my hand-dyed fabrics.

These are the hand-dyed onesies I dyed.  I had so much fun doing this and I hope many new moms and dad will enjoy dressing their little ones in these works of art. You’ll notice I dyed some socks to match many of the onesies.

I love felting wool!!!  I played with bits and pieces of roving the other day and made 6 small pieces of felted wool. I could not resist adding some beading and then I decided to mount them:

here is that small piece of felted wool mounted on a canvas. I created the background fabric using a technique called gelatin monoprinting.  I love the bird sillouhette and I had this tiny nest with eggs in it that I added to the wool piece. Size: 8×10.  I’ve made 5 others- all unique, one-of-a-kind piece.

These are just a few of the item I will have displayed and for sale on Sunday.

My good friend, Grace Howes of RedBarn Studios will be there with her hand made journals. I plan to buy one of hers to use to document my trip to Ireland.

Come on Sunday! Eat breakfast from one of the food trucks, come shop, listen to some awesome music, and if you are so inclined, Scott Hofert of Colsen Keane Custom Leather Goods and Watershed will be sharing some thoughts on creativity. I love to listen to Scott -he encourages me and he inspires me.

Shop, Eat, Be inspired, What a wonderful way to spend a Sunday morning!

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

