RSS Feed

2012 ending – another new beginning: 2013

I’ve almost decided Blogging isn’t my thing.  I keep trying and I keep wanting to blog, but it’s never at the top of my priority list.  I have to wonder if 2013 will be the same or if I will find a new love in sharing my life in this manner.

A friend asked me today “what’s your word for 2013?”  My answer: no clue.  I’ve thought about it, but no one word or phrase has jumped out at me as one I want to use to guide my year.  I looked back to this time last year and I re-read my blog post. wow!  while reading it, I remembered how frustrated and tired and overwhelmed I was feeling; how I felt like too many people had strings pulling me in as many directions.

 My goals for 2012 were personal and my word (phrase really) was self compassion. It did a world of good for me.  I did not make art, I did not lose weight, I did not…. Nor did I allow myself to get caught up in the “I should’s”.  I concentrated on the “I want to’s”.  

I allowed myself time to enjoy friends and family and to embrace the efforts I did make and I took the time to enjoy the process of living.  I feel so much more refreshed, more alive, happier, than I did one year ago. I feel more connected to those important people in my life. I’ve been able to remind myself that those who truly want to be a part of my life will be. I’ve stopped chasing those who say they want to be, but never show up.

So, here at the end of 2012, I find myself in a much happier and healthier place emotionally and psychologically. And I find myself asking ‘what goals do I want to meet in 2013’?  where do I want to be? what do I want to be doing? and Who do I want to be doing it with?

I will be spending the last few days of 2012 thinking about these questions and figuring out what my guiding word will be.

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

2 responses »

  1. I’ve not contemplated a word this year, nor have I been regular at blogging. I think I’ve been so busy actually living life on a daily basis that the long term contemplation or goals have resolved themselves. And I too am much more relaxed and in tune with myself this last year. Perhaps too much introspection is not such a good thing?

    Reply
    • I agree, maybe it’s not.
      I’m contemplating words like ‘forward’ and ‘justice’ and ‘joy’. I think blogging sometimes help me ‘talk it out’ and it’s a journal of sorts for me. I loved looking back a year ago and reading what I wrote.
      Stay in touch!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

