RSS Feed

Still contemplating

I’ve been mulling over what I want my guiding word to be for 2013. I haven’t made a choice; I’m still contemplating.
I’ve tried to think about what I liked about 2012 and what I would change if I could. I think figuring that out will help me find my word. I’ve also been thinking about why I chose ‘self compassion’ for 2012 and that’s very strongly tied to 2011 being one of being pulled in too many directions and never quite feeling like I was giving anything 100%.
In terms of art, 2011 was a year of forcing art. I was a part of a couple of groups that expected me to produce art and I felt pressured to make stuff whether my heart was in it or not. The result was I made stuff I didn’t like, stuff I wasn’t proud of and didn’t speak to anyone. A result of that is that 2012 was a year when I didn’t make anything. At one point, I had not touched my sewing machine in 6 months.
I want to enter 2013 reinvigorated with my fires rekindled. The embers are there, just waiting for a bit of fresh air to make them flare.
The word I am contemplating is AUTHENTIC. As in ‘true to ones self’. I’m mulling it over and it very well may be the word I choose.
Back in a bit…

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

