RSS Feed

Intention – word for 2014

The last day of 2013 has dawned and has me thinking about what I accomplished in 2013 and what I want 2014 to be.  Looking back at my few and very scarce postings here, I think I actually accomplished many of the things I wanted to this year. I said no to cleaning what was already clean enough; I spent time with friends and family; I gave up a church commitment I no longer felt lead to do and found no joy in; and I took up 2 other commitments to my church that bring me much joy.  Remember my word for 2013? DELIGHT  I think I was able to let that word lead me in decision making most of the time. Don’t get me wrong – I had frustrating days, and days of tears, and days of barely keeping my head above water, BUT I think remembering that I wanted my life to be filled with DELIGHT, I had more days of joy and less days that were less than joy-filled.

I know I barely posted last year. Blogging is not my priority – often I am way too busy doing the things I love to take the time to write down what I’ve done. When I first started blogging, I was told “never blog unless you have pictures to post. No one wants to just read words”.  I’m going to break that rule. I’m also going to break the rule that says I have to have something of significance to say.  Who knows when just a few words written here can make the difference in someone’s life (including my own)?

So today, I ask:  did you like your life in 2013?

If so, are you able to maintain and fill 2014 with those things that make life fulfilling?

If not, what things do you want to change? I’m thinking hard about this very question. I want to be sure that my goals for the year are sustainable and not things that by Jan 31st,  I will have forgotten about or decided are too hard.

I can tell you I’ve chosen my word for 2014:  INTENTION

Merriam-Webster defines Intention like this: the thing that you plan to do or achieve : an aim or purpose

Over the next few days I will be thinking about and posting about those things I believe I can do in 2014 to make my life one that is joy-filled and purposeful.

Happy New Year’s Eve!

 

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

