RSS Feed

Joy!

Posted on

Good morning! It’s a beautiful day on the lake.  The sun is shining, the sky is blue, and the winds are calm.

I spent some time in my sewing room this morning!  I was at the NC Quilt Symposium last weekend (I really need to blog that!) and started a table runner in one of my classes.  It was a log cabin diamonds class taught by Flavin Glover.  I’ve never done this before and it is proving to be challenging for me. I love that!  Usually I come home with class samples or the beginning of projects that never get touched again. I really do like this one so I worked on it this morning:

10444540_10203677663612375_6532765596649266508_n

I’ll have to post about the Symposium and again when this table runner is done.

The other subject that caused me to title this post as “Joy!” is concerning my sugar-free journey.  I had lunch yesterday with a friend. I ordered tea and while I thought I said “unsweetened”, I can’t swear that I did. The tea came and I took a swallow… IT WAS SUPER SWEET! I set it aside and next time our waitress came over I asked her to change it for me. I didn’t give it a lot of thought at the time, but told myself that was something outside of my control.  “It’s Life”.

What surprised me is the cravings that hit all afternoon and evening.  I posted yesterday that I haven’t had the cravings and haven’t need the L-Glutamine much.  wow!  That one sip was enough for me to start thinking about a Coke; a candy bar; and Ice Cream!  I ended up taking 3 doses of the L-Glutamine to help me over the cravings. But my success is that I did it.  I did not succumb to the cravings. I was able to take the supplement and drink water and tell myself the cravings would pass.  And they did.  It did help that I took the time to make a small “legal” chocolate cake with icing for my  desert last  night.  (One of these days, I’ll get on my soap box and tell you why I hate referring to foods as ‘good’ and ‘bad’.)

Joyfully and creatively yours,

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

