RSS Feed

small success

I’ve managed enough ‘stolen’ minutes (hours) in my sewing room to get all the diamonds done for the center stars of the tablerunner.  I still have a bunch – maybe 15?? to make for the background.  THEN I will begin the tedious process of sewing diamond together. I’ve never had success with the process, but I’m willing to give it another try.  I’ll definitely post pictures.  Not sure when I get to play again – maybe this Saturday.

On the other subject I’ve been talking about lately:  I am 4 days shy of being one entire month without sugar (except for that swallow at the restaurant last week!)   I am feeling a strong sense of accomplishment. I’ve actually come to a point where I prefer my coffee with just half & half. The first couple of weeks I was putting Xylitol or Truvia in it, but now, I actually like the taste better without sweetener.

This past Monday I was at 22 days of being sugar free and following Trim Healthy Mama ‘religiously’.  I woke up HUNGRY!!!  I mean RAVENOUS!  I wanted carbs and I wanted some fat to go with it. I ate a proper “E” breakfast thinking the carbs would help. But nope!  All I could think of was pizza and ice cream. PIZZA AND ICE CREAM!  So I did some rationalization and told myself a cheat now and then isn’t so bad when I’m committing to the long term goal of health and food management. So I went to the grocery store and found a Gluten Free pizza with uncured pepperoni and no sugar added.  BINGO!  And even though I’ve sworn off Splenda, I found an ice cream made with Splenda that had a very low sugar content (coming from the milk, I’m sure) and brought 2 cartons home (they were on sale!!) :-0

Want to talk about heaven???  Oh my goodness.  That pizza was heavenly. But I was full after only 3/4 of the small (5-6 inch) pizza.  Then I waited to see if that would satisfy my craving.  NOPE!  So I got the carton of ice cream out and I’m not ashamed to say I took the carton to the living room with a spoon and I ate to my heart’s content.  I didn’t eat as much as I would have a month ago when i was eating regular ice cream.

So I splurged but it was on two things that I was craving that were not sugar.  My primary goal when beginning this was (is) to avoid sugar to get my insulin levels under control and hopefully avoid that Diabetes diagnosis.

I couldn’t help myself this morning.  I weighed.  As I approached the scales (my arch enemy) I kept repeating a number in my head that I would find acceptable for the ‘sacrifices’ I’ve made this past 3 1/2 weeks.  Wow!  I was pleasantly surprised!

In 26 days, I’ve lost 12 pounds!  wow!!!   I know the first week or two you drop a lot, and this amount won’t occur again in such a short time, but I am feeling really good about myself today.   Not for the weight loss – I didn’t really do that.  What I did was commit to eating a certain way and I stuck to it.  Even in my ‘cheat’, I stuck to my sugar free status.  AND I got up the next morning and never thought twice about continuing my plan. Once those cravings were satisfied, the leftover pizza and the ice cream in the freezer no longer appeals to me.

So that’s where I am today on my Creative Journey.

Creatively yours,

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

