RSS Feed

Woot! One month!

sugar

I hit a milestone today.  When I woke up this morning, I woke up sugar free for ONE MONTH!

I will tell you that this has not been an easy achievement. I will also tell you I haven’t beaten sugar.  The siren is still there. The dream of sweetness on my tongue resides in my head. And I have to tell you, now that I’m not eating or drinking the stuff, I am more aware of how it is all around us – everywhere!  I cannot leave my house without being confronted by it:  flavored coffee creamers or flavorings, candy bars, ice cream and frozen yogurt shops, soft drinks in every check out line….

I will tell you the first couple of weeks were tough.  My head ached nonstop. Nothing helped.  I took Advil, Tylenol, even resorted to the prescription pain meds I have for migraine.  NOTHING stopped the headache.  I knew the whole time a Coke would make it go away.  It was tough.   My joints ached.  I was walking like I was 102.  I was stiff and clumsy especially when I had been sitting. Even if I had only been sitting for a few minutes.  The only thing that brought even minor relief was to put muscle rub on my legs and wrap them in a warm blanket. As long as I was still, they wouldn’t hurt. As soon as I got up, it was hard. It hurt.  The muscle/joint pain has only disappeared this week. And I was CRABBY!!! CRANKY!!!! and basically not a lot of fun to be around.  Steve is a trooper. He put up with my mood swings knowing they were coming from a place of withdrawal.

I’m fortunate. Those are the only two major withdrawal symptoms I had.  In the past I’ve had gastric upset and vertigo. I believe the supplements I used helped with some of that.

Today I sit before you still battling the siren in my head. But, my desires are slowly changing.

I wanted to share my triumph today.  It is a battle won.  I realized I am still fighting the war.

Creatively yours,

 

 

 

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

