RSS Feed

Salads and Stevia

images

I am getting tired of salad.  I’m finding the easiest and fastest way to eat a healthy lunch is to eat a salad.  But really, how many bowls of green leafy stuff and chicken can one person eat???  One of the things that makes it so hard is that most salad dressings have sugar in them.  I’ve GOT to find some dressings recipes!!!  BUT, I have to tell you, I had lunch with my friend Liz yesterday and she fixed salad for us for lunch (remember?  fast and easy!).  It truly was delicious! She added berries and pecans which perked up the flavor, but what I want to share with you is the dressing!!!  She said, “I have Balsamic Vinegar for you”.  My first thought was ‘ugh’, another salad with Balsamic Vinegar.  But Oh My Goodness!!! She had the BEST Balsamic Vinegar I’ve ever eaten! (the vinegar is called 25 Star) And several different infused Olive Oils that were to die for! My salads (see that s???? I ate 2 plates of salad yesterday and actually wanted more!)  She told me about a small local store in downtown Mooresville where she buys her oils and vinegar:

enchanted-olive-collage-1

It’s called The Enchanted Olive and it’s amazing!  It’s in a small downtown storefront, that looks like it is an original building. It’s open and airy and has tank after tank of oils and vinegars.  They have small cups for customers to taste the different offerings.  I tasted several before I made my selections.  They have various sizes of bottles you can fill to buy.  Please take the time to check them out!  Truly it was an enjoyable experience and I have a few different oils and an amazing Balsamic Vinegar to add to my salads and to my roasted veggies! Oh! and they also have organic, Non-GMO spices and gourmet sea salts at great prices!

On another note, I have to share with you something I missed entirely in my haste through the grocery store this week.  I’ve switched to Truvia as my main source of sweetner.  It’s Erithrytol and Stevia – all natural, no artificial stuff, no impact on blood glucose, and it actually tastes good.  It comes in several different packages at the store:

truvia

Me being who I am, believed all were the same product, right?  WRONG!  See the large bag in the back?  It’s different from the rest.  All the packages in the front are Erythritol and Stevia.  The large bag in the back is Erythritol, SUGAR, and Stevia.  Yikes!  I saw the bag and thought, great! An easy, convenient way to buy Truvia.  I got it home, made some muffins and they were sickeningly sweet.  I couldn’t figure out why.  Until I read a post by someone talking about Truvia and they said to beware of the Truvia Baking Blend that comes in a large bag. They said it contained sugar.  Sure enough.  Wow!

Thought I’d pass that along for any of you who are trying to cut sugar out of your diet.  I’m telling you, it’s everywhere! Even in the alternate sweeteners we are trying to use!

On that note, I found another blog written by Lauren Benning:  Healthy Indulgences  Lauren has formulated a Truvia-like sweetener recipe.  I’ve been reading on the Trim Healthy Mama forum that a lot of people are completely satisfied with the recipe and have made the switch. Yesterday,  I ordered the Erythritol and Stevia recommended by Lauren and THM; I’ll let you know how it works out for me.

So, I am now at 5 1/2 weeks of being sugar-free.  I’m loving the balance I’m finding in my eating patterns.  I still get hungry, sure. I’m human. But, I’m not finding myself wanting to eat for the sake of eating or for the taste of something sweet.  I don’t really think about food unless I’m truly hungry.  Pretty amazing.

Creatively yours,

 

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

