RSS Feed

Balance

I thought I’d share something I’m doing to help me with my word of the year.

A dear friend of mine gave me a beautiful Quilting calendar for Christmas.  I love it!!  I still use my phone calendar; I love having it handy at all times and I love the alarm function. BUT, I find taking the time to transfer my calendar to a paper calendar where I can see a week or month at a time is essential to me finding balance in my schedule. I am an Introvert (many people find that surprising); I need time to myself to alone with my thoughts and time to ponder and create whether I choose quilting, punch needle, knitting, or gardening. I NEED that time.   Having my calendar on a monthly calendar, I can see when I have too many days in a row scheduled out or when I’ve scheduled myself too closely.

I added something to my paper calendar:  I have written or used stickers to put the word BALANCE at top of each page reminding me to choose balance.

If you are trying to choose balance as well, here are a couple of ideas to consider:

Margin:  Margin is giving yourself some time to breathe. Plan to arrive 10 minutes early to a doctor’s appointment or to lunch with a friend or church or wherever it is you are going.  This does a couple of things:  If you hit a traffic snag, you aren’t as upset or frazzled by it because you have plenty of time . If you arrive 10 minutes early, you have time to check your phone or calendar for last minute messages that allow you to attend to your appointment with a clear mind.

Slowing Down:  Do you really need to be somewhere every day?  (Of course if you work full time, the answer is YES! but then think about your time before and after work).  Can you allow yourself to say no to opportunities in order to give yourself space.  I hear people  say “I don’t have time” way too often.  Most of us DO have time, we just don’t prioritize our time in ways that give us space for things that feed our souls or allow us to just be.

when I pay attention to slowing down and making margin in my life, my life goes so much more smoothly.  I hope you will take a moment to consider where you can add margin and where you can slow down in your life.

images 1

About delanequilts

Full time wife, mother, grandmother; friend to many; crazy aunt to a few. Avid lover of reading; 'making something from nothing'; karate! (Tang Soo!); nature and gardening though trying to cut back on time spent pulling weeds! Lover of essential oils!

Leave a Reply

